Our School Counseling Team

The  guidance staff includes a Supervisor of Guidance, seven full time counselors and one full time student assistance counselor. The School Counseling Department focuses on promoting and supporting growth in our students in academics, as well as mental and emotional wellness. 

Supervisor of Pupil Personnel Services / Guidance 
Mr. Andrew Amendola - aamendola@clarkschools.org

Arthur L. Johnson High School   732-382-3259

Ms. Jennifer Sanchez - jsanchez@clarkschools.org
Ms. Molly Cusick - mcusick@clarkschools.org
Ms. Erica Stasio - estasio@clarkschools.org (Leave Replacement: Ms. Erica Turtz - eturtz@clarkschools.org)
Ms. Ellen Zamboni - ezamboni@clarkschools.org
Mr. Steve Kaelblein - SAC skaelblein@clarkschools.org 

Carl H. Kumpf Middle School  732-381-4100

Mr. Steven Acosta - sacosta@clarkschools.org
Ms. Danielle Crincoli - dcrincoli@clarkschools.org

Frank K. Hehnly 732-381-8100 and Valley Road School 732-388-7901 

Ms. Sarah Badillo - sbadillo@clarkschools.org

Support Staff

Ms. Roseanne Bowden- rbowden@clarkschools.org
Ms. Susan Smith - ssmith@clarkschools.org

2019-2020 Program of Studies

SAT/ACT Information

At least one SAT or ACT should be taken before senior year.  All colleges in the United States accept both tests.  Make sure you are registering for an exam with an essay if your prospective school requires it.  Test dates and registration information can be found at the below links.

SAT

ACT

List of Schools That Require the SAT With Essay.pdf 

Schools That Require the SAT Subject Tests

SAT to ACT Score Conversion Chart

Scholarships/Financial Aid Information

Visit the ALJ Scholarship/Financial Aid site for monthly scholarship bulletins, external scholarship links, and financial aid resources.

Tutoring Program

ALJ Tutoring

Students in grades 9-12 are invited to work with members of the National Honor Society and the Science National Honor Society on Tuesdays (Room 4) and Thursdays (Room 214) throughout the school year. Students must sign up to attend before 7:50 a.m. on the day of tutoring.

Paid Tutoring

National Honor Society students are available to tutor students outside of school for a fee of $15/hr. Please utilize this link to request a tutor.

College Scholarship Tracker

Seniors who have applied to colleges may start hearing back within a few weeks. In an effort to keep information organized, a worksheet with some examples is below to keep track of scholarship offers from each school. Note that some awards may not come until the FAFSA information is processed.

 College Scholarship Tracker.pdf 

Military Academies & Armed Forces

Military representatives visit ALJ throughout the school year. Students interested in pursuing a career in the armed forces or placement into an ROTC program or one of the Service Academies* should speak to his/her counselor to obtain relevant information.

*Students interested in applying to one or more of the Service Academies must discuss this with his/her counselor during junior year of high school. The process of applying is lengthy and detailed.

Service Academies Armed Forces ROTC Programs
U.S. Air Force Academy U.S. Air Force Air Force ROTC
U.S. Coast Guard Academy U.S. Army Army ROTC
U.S. Merchant Marine Academy U.S. Coast Guard Navy ROTC
U.S. Military Academy (West Point) U.S. Marines  
U.S. Naval Academy U.S. Navy