Our School Counseling Team

The  School Counseling staff includes a Director of School Counseling, eight full time counselors and one full time student assistance counselor. The School Counseling Department focuses on promoting and supporting growth in our students in academics, as well as mental and emotional wellness. 

Director of School Counseling Services - Mr. Andrew Amendola - aamendola@clarkschools.org

Arthur L. Johnson High School   732-382-0910

Mrs. Jennifer Sanchez - jsanchez@clarkschools.org
Mrs. Molly Cusick - mcusick@clarkschools.org
Ms. Meghan Bradley - mbradley@clarkschools.org 
Mrs. Ellen Zamboni - ezamboni@clarkschools.org
Mr. Steve Kaelblein - SAC skaelblein@clarkschools.org 

Carl H. Kumpf Middle School  732-381-4100

Mr. Steven Acosta - sacosta@clarkschools.org
Ms. Danielle Crincoli - dcrincoli@clarkschools.org

Valley Road School 732-388-7901 

Ms. Sarah Badillo - sbadillo@clarkschools.org

Frank K. Hehnly School 732-381-8100

Mr. Joseph Sortino - jsortino@clarkschools.org

Support Staff

Ms. Roseanne Bowden- rbowden@clarkschools.org
Ms. Susan Smith - ssmith@clarkschools.org

Help Resources

If you or someone you know is in crisis and needs immediate help, please contact 911 or call the toll-free, 24-hour hotline of the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255) to be connected to a trained counselor at a suicide crisis center nearest you.

Community Resource Guide

UCCTI Shared-Time Program

Application Process

The application for shared-time programs with the Union County Career & Technical Institute (UCCTI) for the 2021-2022 school year will be located here when available: 

UCCTI Application  

2022-2023 Program of Studies

Tutoring Program

ALJ Tutoring

Students in grades 9-12 are invited to work with members of the National Honor Society and the Science National Honor Society on Tuesdays (Room 4) and Thursdays (Room 214) throughout the school year. Students must sign up to attend before 7:50 a.m. on the day of tutoring.

Paid Tutoring

National Honor Society students are available to tutor students outside of school for a fee of $15/hr. Please utilize this link to request a tutor.

Military Academies & Armed Forces

Military representatives visit ALJ throughout the school year. Students interested in pursuing a career in the armed forces or placement into an ROTC program or one of the Service Academies* should speak to his/her counselor to obtain relevant information.

*Students interested in applying to one or more of the Service Academies must discuss this with his/her counselor during junior year of high school. The process of applying is lengthy and detailed.

Service Academies Armed Forces ROTC Programs
U.S. Air Force Academy U.S. Air Force Air Force ROTC
U.S. Coast Guard Academy U.S. Army Army ROTC
U.S. Merchant Marine Academy U.S. Coast Guard Navy ROTC
U.S. Military Academy (West Point) U.S. Marines  
U.S. Naval Academy U.S. Navy  

Course Scheduling and Offerings

Scheduling courses for the 2022-23 school year begins February/March 2022 for current juniors, sophomores, and freshmen.
 

Each student will meet individually with his/her School Counselor:

  • Prior to this meeting, students will complete the Elective Request Form in the Genesis Parent Portal. Students and families are encouraged to review the Program of Studies to check course offerings, course requirements, and placement criteria. Students should also review the Graduation Checklist when selecting their choices. 
    • Current juniors (rising seniors) should use this linked worksheet to help them select their elective choices. 
    • Current sophomores (rising juniors) should this linked worksheet to help them select their elective choices. 
    • Current freshmen (rising sophomores) should use this linked worksheet to assist them with this process. 
  • At this meeting, school counselors and students review teacher recommendations and elective/course requests.

 
Current 8th Graders/Rising 9th Graders
 
Recommendations for 9th grade courses are based on grades earned throughout 8th grade. The ALJ school counselors will meet with all current 8th-grade students at CHK and Lincoln School virtually to discuss graduation requirements, course selection, and course placement. Parents/guardians are also invited to attend these meetings.